picksasebo.blogg.se

Remington rifle serial numbers
Remington rifle serial numbers













remington rifle serial numbers
  1. #Remington rifle serial numbers serial numbers
  2. #Remington rifle serial numbers serial number

The gun control act that was signed into law in October of 1968 resulted in the changing of the serial number range, but as for the 87 rifles that were ordered that year by the Corp it is anyone's guess with regards to the serial numbers. The 62 rifles the Corp ordered in 1967 I can only surmise were also 6 digit serial numbered rifles. To be honest I think we are all pretty confident with regards to the serial number range for the Corp's initial order of 700 rifles. As we know the Air Force actually placed the first contract for the M700 Sniper rifle, then the Corp. With regards to the serial number issue, the rifle that Remington was selling was the Remington M700 Sniper, it was available to whoever wanted to buy it, Air Force, Army, Navy, Sionics Inc, Wyoming state Police to name just a few.

remington rifle serial numbers

Piteously Uniformed, I would have to check my notes when I get home with regards to serial #6257341. Scionics was obviously way down south (as I recall Alabama or Georgia, I 'd have to go look to correct my recollection).

#Remington rifle serial numbers serial numbers

The highest serial number I have seen on a US marked, clip slotted Model 700 is 6257341.Īlso, I have talked to the historian guy(s) on the phone at Remington about serial numbers in this serial number range, as we all know they are not overly helpful, and he/they have stated that at least some of the guns in this range were built in 8/69 and shipped by Remington in 12/69 to "Boston MA." Does anyone have any idea who or what entity would have been receiving these 7 digit guns or some of these guns in Boston? I am not at all familiar with the military facilities that existed there in 1969. I'm under the impression that the presentation rifles were originally an Air Force contract rifle but Marty B would know for sure. The CMP rifle that sold for $360259, another barreled action that CMP sold a few years ago was 6257301 $4650). One presentation rifle was sold by Rock Island Auction in late 2009, ($14950) serial # on that rifle was 6257284, I'm pretty sure that 6257227 was another but I would have to check my notes. Mescabug, I believe there were 4 or 5 USMC M40 presentation rifles built, serial numbers for two are listed in Senichs book 6257207 & 6257276. Bolt is serialized to the action, and has good headspace." This barreled action appears to have been rebarrelled since the barrel does not have the typical Remington proof marks/stamps on the left side of the barrel, and has a recessed crown. Short action Remington M700, clip slotted and US marked. This barreled action is serial number 6257239, and may have been an USAF rifle. " M40 Sniper Rifle Barreled Action (serial #) 6257239 Information is lacking re the mysterious USAF M40 rifles, but I will note that CMP auctioned off one of these barreled receivers in 2015 (for big $$), that may have been transferred to them from the Air Force: " I have 2 Rem 700 receivers the one I'm going to build on first is ser # 6,243,9xx does this number fall into the correct range for the m40".Īs others have noted, that is not in the serial number range for USMC M40s, but apparently your serial # of 6.24M is kind-of close to some M40s reportedly used by the US Air Force (and for R&D purposes).















Remington rifle serial numbers