picksasebo.blogg.se

B b king king of the blues
B b king king of the blues











b b king king of the blues

I remember that somebody had took a knife and cut the seat. Get ready and I’ll take you in.’ I followed him into the same old dressing room. “Bill came back out with the road manager, came on the bus and said, ‘You’re at the right place. “I sent my road manager and told him to tell Bill Graham I was there but I thought it was the wrong place. In the meantime, back at the original Fillmore, BB King is looking for answers. He will abandon the Auditorium a year after BB plays there to open the larger capacity Fillmore West and Winterland Ballroom venues, both in San Francisco and the Fillmore East in New York City.īB King with Ringo Starr in London, 1971. A champion of the counter-culture scene, Graham and his venue host shows by the likes of The Doors and Jefferson Airplane. The Fillmore is run by impresario and promoter Bill Graham.

b b king king of the blues

I told my road manager, ‘I think my agent’s made a mistake.’ All these guys, with the long hair, they didn’t seem to be bothered with us at all.” “They were sitting out there on the stairs that led to the doorway of the Fillmore. Instead of the mature, well-dressed black patrons they’ve played to since forever, there’s a bunch of scruffy white kids lounging around the Fillmore’s entrance. On this occasion, the clientele strikes them as unusual.

B B KING KING OF THE BLUES WINDOWS

An old International tour bus nicknamed Big Red rolls up to the Fillmore Auditorium in San Francisco, California.Īs the bus comes to a halt, BB King and his entourage peer out of its side windows at the ‘same old funky building’ they’ve played countless times before. It’s early in the afternoon on Sunday February 26, 1967. Racism is still prevalent in the Deep South, as it is all over, but attitudes have changed over the years (“I was shocked more than most white people to find we had a black President!” laughs BB) as The King of the Blues was to discover one life-changing date in the late 60s.













B b king king of the blues